Fruit Explorer looking for employment with lodging

Open Discussion - for our Readers, Islanders, and Web Site Visitors alike. Discussion regarding any and all aspects of Beaver Island are welcome here. Also a place for general Beaver Island conversation and discussion.

Moderator: Gillespie

adambighamorcharding

Fruit Explorer looking for employment with lodging

Post by adambighamorcharding »

Firstly, I'd be interested if anyone knows what apple variety is the big old tree by Beaver Head Lighthouse? I was there for the first time last week (also my first trip to the island,) and that is obviously a very old apple tree. I took a dip in Donegal Bay on Wednesday the 17th, which was quite invigorating!
I used to be a professional Horticulturist, but I was working in a factory full-time for almost four years prior to Covid. I had some part-time retail jobs in the last couple years, and I continue to work with fruit trees on the side -- including my independent breeding work, and getting gigs for pruning, consultation and such.
Any suggestions for organic-minded horticultural produce you'd like to have from a local source? Along with a couple friends, we are hoping to get a plot on Beaver Island within the next 12 months and begin growing some things that folks on the island would like to see at the farmers' market for example, and to continue with fruit breeding, working with apples, hybrid plums, and other fruits.
In the meantime, I am interested (and available) to find employment for this season and get to know some of the community on the island. I would be grateful for the opportunity. I am presently in Comstock Park, Michigan, and I have lived in Michigan all my life.
adam b.
Attachments
Adam, circa 2017, picking cherries
Adam, circa 2017, picking cherries
36838715_926735070868685_4926467517330751488_n.jpg (585.44 KiB) Viewed 4066 times
Apple tree beside Beaver Head Lighthouse
Apple tree beside Beaver Head Lighthouse