Should your Biology prohibit you to play?

Open Discussion - for our Readers, Islanders, and Web Site Visitors alike. Discussion regarding any and all aspects of Beaver Island are welcome here. Also a place for general Beaver Island conversation and discussion.

Moderator: Gillespie

MB

Should your Biology prohibit you to play?

Post by MB »

April 18, 2007

With the weather improving and the anticipation of summer, my thoughts are consumed with my favorite pastime; Golf. Throughout my adolescent and young adult life my summers have included many rounds of golf which have usually ended in success. Unfortunately, my greatest weakness is my biological makeupâ?¦ I am female.
I am a fairly new resident to the island and was excited to be invited to play in the Wednesday night golf league this summer. I know fairly well that playing in the menâ??s league would include proving myself. However, I never imagined I would be denied the right to play by the golf league administrator. I understand the concern of wanting to keep the level of play high, however, my experience and qualifications give me the same right as any other skilled golfer to play on Wednesday evening. Not only was I a four year letter winner at Hope College of Holland, Michigan, captain of both my collegiate and high school golf team my senior years, two time State Finalist at my class A High School in Midland, Michigan, two time City of Midland Golf Champion, and current reigning City of Midland title holder. With my love for golf and experiences, a spring intramural golf league has been added at BICS.