Life on Beaver Island and What to Consider

Open Discussion - for our Readers, Islanders, and Web Site Visitors alike. Discussion regarding any and all aspects of Beaver Island are welcome here. Also a place for general Beaver Island conversation and discussion.

Moderator: Gillespie

Tabithajz

Life on Beaver Island and What to Consider

Post by Tabithajz »

Hi Everyone. My husband and I are considering moving to Beaver Island. I am an attorney with my own firm and work remotely and my husband is in mathematics/tech. My husband is German and is used to being out in the forest everyday and I got used to it too while living in Germany for a few years. We also have a dog and she loves the water and exploring the woods. Previously, I lived in Chicago for 8 years and prefer the colder climate.

We're now looking to buy a home with a good amount of land for gardening and beekeeping. Our desire is to be part of a community but also have a quiet/peaceful life. We plan on having kids in the next few years so we're hoping to live in a place that's safe, conducive to outdoor activities and has educational opportunities. Wherever we move to, we want to be there long-term.

One more huge factor is that I have a lot of food restrictions because of autoimmuity. I can't have nightshades (tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant, etc), soy, corn, certain legumes and a few more items. Because of these restrictions, we need to be very selective while buying groceries and mostly cook at home. I say this because buying food in our family is a challenge at times. Based on my research, I think the remoteness of BI might take a bit getting used to when it comes to grocery shopping but is doable with proper planning.

I'd love to get feeback from BI residents based on what I've outlined. What are things we need to consider? How is accessibility and remote working? How do you usually manage when it comes to getting supplies and groceries? How is the community?