career,s

Open Discussion - for our Readers, Islanders, and Web Site Visitors alike. Discussion regarding any and all aspects of Beaver Island are welcome here. Also a place for general Beaver Island conversation and discussion.

Moderator: Gillespie

duffer

career,s

Post by duffer »

hello beautiful island friends. i hope to get a quality thread about work on the island. I am currently working in colorado as i have the last year and the few before that florida. as an islander who loves this place work is tough here. yes there is work for those who want work but there are very few careers which is going to be what it takes to draw young folks. I know that when i came I knew if i could not afford anything before i came here it was a deal breaker. I have been visiting and vacationing here since 1973, the job market has changed very little in all that time infact i used to camp all summer and work at the shamrock when barb becker ran the bar. from 1973 to present other than the small building boom careers here have been almost none unless teaching or medical. I don,t consider waiting tables or working as a room cleaner are careers although many make money doing it. I also think that if a young family comes with out assets already it is a tough climb. even the old island families have kids working somewhere else because they know it is not a career, now lets talk housing,,,, expensive, high taxes and the general cost of living. this is not uniqe to beaver island, travers city has a housing crisis also and workers travel many miles for work. could it be possible that people will eventually have to ride the boat for daily work, it is happening all over these days. our school is suffering from that lack of careers here that could bring young families. last summer i offered 30 dollars an hour for repair work but got no call,s that 30 is on a flat rate which is how career mechanics get paid unless working for a private firm. it is tough running an auto business here becaus