Sailing around Beaver Island

Open Discussion - for our Readers, Islanders, and Web Site Visitors alike. Discussion regarding any and all aspects of Beaver Island are welcome here. Also a place for general Beaver Island conversation and discussion.

Moderator: Gillespie

BIdreaming

Sailing around Beaver Island

Post by BIdreaming »

Hey everyone. I've been coming to BI for about five years now, and ever since I first set eyes on the place, it's been my dream to cruise around the archipelago. Last year I started learning sailing on a 14' dingy, this year I upgraded to a 16' boat that is larger, roomier, and heavier. I don't think it's big enough to sail from the mainland, but I have a reservation on the Emerald Isle to take it across for me.

If nothing else, it will be fun to sail around the harbor, but I'm wondering if people have had success sailing this type of boat around to the other islands? I'm thinking a day trip, set off at 8am, head to Garden or High and then be back before 8pm.

My thought is only sail to an island when there are forecasted clear skies and only visit islands that are windward from BI. I also have a 54lb thrust electric motor that can push the boat about 5mph for two hours in case the wind dies.